Skip to main content

Trustees and Committee members

Who runs the Ruth First Educational Trust?

Members of the Executive Committee in 2023-24

TrusteesOther members
Chair: Prof Mike ThompsonDr Margaret Masson
(St Chad’s College)
Treasurer: Francis PritchardProf Patrick Dorey
Secretary: Helen CharnleyDr Alice Nah
Lotte ShanklandProf Martha Young-Scholten
John TierneyDr Diana Collecott
 Prof Cheryl McEwanPatson Muzuwa
Dr Kola Mudashiru
(Durham University International Office)
Councillor Lesley Mavin
(Durham County Council)
 Prof Bongani Ndimba
(University of the Western Cape)
 Dr Pearson Nkhoma
(Goldsmiths, University of London)
 Ruth First Scholar: Scholastic Mpofu

The Ruth First Educational Trust is a registered UK charity (no. 1019975)

Email: [email protected]


Bill Bryson – writer, former Chancellor of Durham University
Sir Thomas Allen – opera singer, former Chancellor of Durham University
Gillian Slovo – writer, daughter of Ruth First and Joe Slovo

Updated May 2024 Mike Thompson
[email protected]
Back to home page